Hugo Awards

It’s award season – at least for the Hugo Awards and the New Zealand Science Fiction and Fantasy awards – the Sir Julius Vogels.

While the Sir Julius Vogels are the big one for me. The Hugos are huge. They’re given out annually at the World Science Fiction Convention. And there are always big international heavyweights like George R R Martin, and Brandon Sanderson leading the field.

It’s an award that’s almost Tardis like in it’s impact. That’s how big it is. And that’s why I’m asking eligible people who love my books not to worry about the individual books, Prophecy and Omens, but to please focus on The Sylvalla Chronicles for best series.

More About the Hugo Awards

The Hugo awards are : “Hugo Awards are fan-run, fan-given, and fan-supported. We recommend that you nominate whatever works and creators you have personally read or seen that were your favorites from 2019 and 1944.” The 1944 awards are being given out because the second world war cancelled that year’s Hugos. It’s great news that creators of awesome work during that year will finally have a chance to be recognised. The deadline for nominations is 13 March 2020 at 11:59pm Pacific Daylight Time. (2:59 am Eastern Daylight Time, 06:59 Irish time, and 7:59 pm 14 March 2020 New Zealand time).

Who is eligible to nominate?

If you’re a Worldcon attendee for ConZealand this year, or Dublin last year, why not think about voting for your favourite author? If you’re eligible to nominate. You should have received an email from the WorldCon Team – you can find out about that here.

It’s a big deal. And if you’re lucky enough to be able to nominate, and you’re still here, I’m going to assume you read and loved The Sylvalla Chronicles with it’s postmodern humour and increasingly dark themes. So please think about going to the trouble of filling out those forms, just getting in the shortlist would be a dream come true. 🙂

The Sylvalla Chronicles Series for Hugo Award Nomination

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: